top of page
Search

AARI's Women's History Month Playlist

Updated: Mar 18, 2021

In celebration of Women's History Month, the women of AARI collaborated with the women of HHSOM's faculty to create a list of music that empowers them. They have chosen to share what the music means to them. We hope that you enjoy listening to our Women's History Month Playlist!


From the Curators

“Meet Me on the Back Porch” and “All Will Be Well” are two songs written by my friend Trisha Adams. She is a local songwriter who creates and produces her own music. We recently worked on a couple of different recordings together where she sang and played guitar as I accompanied her on cello. It was super fun getting to play with another female musician here in Athens, and I am amazed by how much she accomplishes; she is a hardworking and admirable woman!

-Ayako Pederson


“Lady Marmalade-From ‘Moulin Rouge’ Soundtrack” is an anthem! The song features pop and hip-hop queens from the 2000’s Christina Aguilera, Lil’ Kim, Mýa, and P!nk. I remember jamming out to this song on the radio as a little girl and thinking that it was awesome to hear this group of women sing such powerful vocals together. Although I was only 5 or 6, it made me feel undefeatable and strong, and to this day, I keep this song on my running playlist and poorly attempt to belt it while out of breath.

-Karena Washington


I chose to feature two bands: CHAI, an all female alternative rock band from Japan, and Lake Street Dive, a soul band made up entirely of New England Conservatory graduates.

A Japanese alternative band is less common these days; especially with a heavy influence of ‘J Pop’, but these ladies of CHAI take alt rock to a whole new level. Their bubbly appearance mixed with distorted electric guitar and synthesizers make their music irresistible.

Lake Street Dive’s music has always been about female emotions and experiences. Their lead singer and upright bassist are two very powerful women with such a huge stage presence. The harmonies are exquisite and the groove just makes you want to roll down your windows and let the whole world hear.”

-Caitlin Santos


“I shared three songs into the playlist and they are: “#1 Must Have” by Sleater-Kinney, “Cherry” by Rina Sawayama, and “Fight Like a Girl” by Zolita! I chose these few songs because they’re only not catchy and awesome, but they also have deeper themes that spoke to me. They all have themes of feminism. Some songs have themes of sexuality and Asian identity, that I understand. I hope you all enjoy our AARI’s playlist for Women’s History Month!”

-Joyce Yun


“There is so much music by and about women that has impacted me in different ways, whether it be as a source of empowerment, comfort, or solidarity. I had to pick more than a few to include in the playlist, but one song I want to highlight that has become an all-time favorite is “Trying to Figure It Out” by Grace Kelly. I probably listened to this song hundreds of times in my freshman year. Though it doesn’t focus on a woman-specific issue, it’s a beautiful song about the journey of life from one woman's perspective. The lyrics aren't too complicated, but they all carry weight. The song has a very warm early jazz sound and I personally love Grace Kelly’s charisma as a singer and saxophonist. It's my go-to when I need a little perspective and it resonates with me every time.”

-Claudia Beroukhim


"Rachel Portman - The first female composer to win an Academy Award for Best Musical or Comedy for Emma (1996). She has been nominated for two other films, Chocolat and The Cider House Rules, the one included here in this playlist. The music is heard in tourism advertisements for the state of Michigan. Joan Baez - One of the first female soloists with whom I was enamored in my teenage years. This piece is about a phone call from an old boyfriend, and it was written in response to a call from one of her former lovers, Bob Dylan. Charlotte Caffrey AKA Kathy Valentine - A bassist and songwriter for the Go Go's, she continues to perform as a musician with her band, The Bluebonnets. This is my go to "pick me up" tune. Dolly Parton (with Emmylou Harris and LInda Ronstadt) - When I first saw Ms.Parton on The Porter Wagoner Show, I knew she was destined for something far greater. A talented songwriter, performer, and philanthropist, she is one of my heroines.

Common Currents (Lizzy Farrell and Mary Margaret Cozart) - As one of my current students, Ms. Farrell has demonstrated that anyone can pursue their deepest desires. She and Mary Margaret are forging their ideas into remarkable expressions of tenderness and wonderment."

-Dr. Stephanie Tingler


"Emilie Mayer (1812-1883) is a 19th-century German sculptor and composer. Mayer wrote eight symphonies in addition to many chamber works, choral works, lieder, violin sonatas, cello sonatas, and piano sonatas. Mayer never married, which may have helped to free her from some of the traditional constraints that women of her time experienced. She travelled widely and had her works performed regularly by professional orchestras in Europe, which was unprecedented for a woman in the musical world of 19th-cenutry Europe. While Mayer was the most prolific German female composer of the Romantic period and was extremely successful as a published composer while she was living, her works have sadly been very rarely performed since her death and are largely unknown now. But they are GORGEOUS examples of 19th-century Romanticism, as you can hear from the slow movement from her fifth symphony."

-Dr. Emily Gertsch


"Joni is a genius at lyric and her sense of space. Bjork is just an original (wonderful) creative."

-Dr. Cynthia Johnston Turner


"All 3 of these recordings feature some of my favorite pianists. The first one features a pianist I just recently learned about, Maria Tipo. She was an Italian pianist who, at age 17, was winning international competitions. Her recordings of Bach and Scarlatti are stunning. Her playing is brilliant, musical, and very inspiring.

The second recording features Martha Argerich, simply a giant at the piano. The recording I chose is from one of her earliest recordings, and it literally set the piano world on fire. Even though she is about my age, her playing has not lost any of its energy. There are so many pieces in the piano repertoire that Martha Argerich basically "owns" - and the Chopin Scherzo is one of them. Simply put, she is one of the most exciting musicians in the world today.

The third recording features a legendary pianist from the first half of the 20th century, Dame Myra Hess. One of the reasons I included her is that her story seems to me almost unbelievable. She was living in London during World War II. And, during The Blitz, she helped to organize approximately 2000 noontime concerts, and she performed in about 150 of them. These concerts went on even during the bombings."

-Dr. Martha Thomas


"REENA ESMAIL Meri Sakhi Ki Avaaz (My Sister’s Voice) https://youtu.be/DdAKSa2Tk_o?list=WL&t=10495

This is my newest find and it makes me smile with joy every time I listen. I love hearing the weaving of the two different soundscapes. CECILE CHAMINDE Concertino for Flute https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JQDTVDmbEpA I grew up listening to my Mom teach this solo to many of her flute students. It was always my favorite to hear in the background and I never knew it was composed by a woman until I transcribed a chamber accompaniment version to perform for my MM conducting recital. All of those years I connected with this piece and it has shaped my musical soul. I also love that I think of my Mom every time I hear it."

-Dr. Jaclyn Hartenberger

88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page